How to Quickly Zoom While Shooting Video with an iPhone PLUS a Bonus Quick Tip

Save Time and Money Tip #1

Andrew Darlow
3 min readNov 2, 2021
Autumn foliage photograph © Andrew Darlow
Autumn Splendor, Central New Jersey, USA — photo © Andrew Darlow

Hello! I’m excited to be posting my very first photograph and article on Medium.com! I have been reading stories on Medium for over a year and have gained a lot of knowledge and inspiration from authors on the platform. So I’m jumping in head first and plan post tips that have helped me in different ways.

For the most part, the tips will cover quick, actionable advice, like the tip about shooting video on iPhones that I’m about to share. And let me be the first to recognize that many people will think some of the tips I share are obvious (and that “everyone knows that!”), but after teaching thousands of people online and in person over more than 20 years, I’ve learned to NEVER assume that everyone knows specific information (especially if it is technical in nature). And if I can help one person in some way save time or money (or maybe inspire them in some other way to make their life (or day) a bit better), then I feel as though my time will have been well spent here.

So without further ado…

Here’s how to quickly zoom in or out while shooting video with an iPhone (specific tips may not apply to all iPhones, and the best results will be with phones that have at least two cameras):

--

--

Andrew Darlow

Author of four award-winning books. Inventor of the GalleryPouch™ Art Bubble Bag. I help people save time and money, and capture/backup/print their photographs.